Hooghly Lok Sabha Constituency

Ozg Political Consulting
Email: political.consulting@o-z-g.com
 Phone # 09811415605-16-27-60-81-91  

Hooghly (Lok Sabha constituency) is one of the 543 parliamentary constituencies in India. The constituency centres on Hugli-Chuchura in West Bengal. All the seven assembly segments of No. 28 Hooghly (Lok Sabha constituency) are in Hooghly district.

1 Assembly segments
2 Election results
3 Results prior to 2009

Assembly segments

As per order of the Delimitation Commission issued in 2006 in respect of the delimitation of constituencies in the West Bengal, parliamentary constituency no. 28 Hooghly is composed of the following segments:

Singur (assembly constituency no. 188)
Chandannagar (assembly constituency no. 189)
Chunchura (assembly constituency no. 190)
Balagarh (SC) (assembly constituency no. 191)
Pandua (assembly constituency no. 192)
Saptagram (assembly constituency no. 193)
Dhanekhali (SC) (assembly constituency no. 197)

Prior to delimitation, Hooghly Lok Sabha constituency was composed of the following assembly segments:

Chandernagore (assembly constituency no. 182)
Singur (assembly constituency no. 183)
Haripal (assembly constituency no. 184)
Chinsurah (assembly constituency no. 186)
Bansberia (assembly constituency no. 187)
Polba (assembly constituency no. 190)
Dhaniakhali (SC) (assembly constituency no. 191)

Election results

General Election, 2009: Hooghly
Party Candidate Votes % ±%
Trinamool Congress Dr. Ratna De (Nag) 574,022
CPI(M) Rupchand Pal 492,499
BJP Dr. Chuni Lal Chakraborty 39,784
Jharkhand Disom Party Swapan Murmu 12,417
CPI(ML)(L) Sajal Adhikari 12,068
Independent Satya Gopal Dey 10,119
BSP Suryya Kanta Ray 9,933
Independent Alok Pathak 6,908
Samajwadi Party Arabinda Sen 4,894
Turnout 1,162,646 82.71
Trinamool Congress gain from CPI(M) Swing

 Indian general election, 2009
West Bengal summary
Party Seats won Seat change
Trinamool Congress 19 Increase18
Indian National Congress 6 Increase0
Socialist Unity Centre of India (Communist) 1 Increase1
Communist Party of India (Marxist) 9 Decrease17
Communist Party of India 2 Decrease1
Revolutionary Socialist Party 2 Decrease1
Forward bloc 2 Decrease1
Bharatiya Janata Party 1 Increase1

Source: List of successful candidates in General Elections 2009 to the 15th Lok Sabha
Statitical Report on General Elections 2004 to the 14th Lok Sabha

Results prior to 2009

Results of elections held prior to 2009 are summarised below:


Year Winner Party
1951 N.C.Chatterjee Hindu Mahasabha
1957 Provat Kar CPI
1962 Provat Kar CPI
1967 Bijoy Krishna Modak CPI(M)
1971 Bijoy Krishna Modak CPI(M)


Year Winner Runner-up
Candidate Party Candidate Party
1977[9] Bijoy Krishna Modak Communist Party of India (Marxist) Bishnu Charan Banerjee Indian National Congress
1980 Rupchand Pal Communist Party of India (Marxist) Santimohan Roy Indian National Congress (I)
1984 Indumati Bhattacharya Indian National Congress Rupchand Pal Communist Party of India (Marxist)
1989 Rupchand Pal Communist Party of India (Marxist) Umasankar Halder Indian National Congress
1991 Rupchand Pal Communist Party of India (Marxist) Umasankar Halder Indian National Congress
1996 Rupchand Pal Communist Party of India (Marxist) Gouri Sankar Banerjee Indian National Congress
1998 Rupchand Pal Communist Party of India (Marxist) Tapan Dasgupta Trinamool Congress
1999 Rupchand Pal Communist Party of India (Marxist) Tapan Dasgupta Trinamool Congress
2004 Rupchand Pal Communist Party of India (Marxist) Indrani Mukherjee Trinamool Congress

Ozg Political Consulting
Email: political.consulting@o-z-g.com
 Phone # 09811415605-16-27-60-81-91